Abroad in Bath

I had to invigilate the BANA (Bath Area Network of Artists) exhibition in Bath today, where I am exhibiting my Chagall inspired mosaic “Bella’s Secret”. Before I went to the gallery, my partner and I stopped off for a coffee, mint tea and baklava in a Moroccan restaurant. To my delight their was a mosaic on the wall. I got chatting with the owner, who is Moroccan, and he told me he was inspired by a huge  mosaic in a restaurant in Marrekech, and  so commissioned an  artist to make a smaller version of it. I love the geometric design that although  simple, the small pieces make it  intricate,  and the natural colour of the clay which hasn’t been glazed, just bisque (biscuit) fired , making it look subtle, earthy and ancient. So very different to my work in colour, but perhaps not  so different in intricacy and  design.

 

Moroccan Restaurant Mosaic detail

 

One thought on “Abroad in Bath

Leave a Reply

